Developing organisational and financial models
for including non-formal sector qualifications
in National Qualifications Frameworks

Ewa Chmielecka

Professor Chmielecka is a National Qualifications Framework Project Expert at the Educational Research Institute (IBE) and Associate Professor at the Warsaw School of Economics, where she is head of the Department of Educational Policy. She has extensive national and international research experience in the public policy of educational systems, particularly concerning lifelong learning, qualifications frameworks and quality assurance. She is also an experienced educator and trainer. Her international research experiences are illustrated by a list of nearly 100 publications in these fields, as well as her leadership and membership in numerous international research projects and expert groups. Examples include representing Poland in the European Commission’s EQF Advisory Group (2008 – present) and membership in the working team for aligning the Hong Kong QF to the EQF (2014 – present). She was also a leader of the Working Group on the national qualifications framework for higher education in Poland (2008-2011) and an expert in the international team preparing the Polish referencing report. She co-authored the level descriptors of the Polish Qualifications Framework, as well as a co-author of Poland’s self-certification report submitted to the EQF Advisory Group in 2013. She also has been serving on the Croatian, Hungarian and Slovakian Referencing (NQF/EQF) Teams from 2012 to the present. Prof. Chmielecka is also an expert in IBE’s Twinning project for Macedonia “Further improvement of the system for development and implementation of the National Qualifications Framework” (2016-2017).

Her experiences in the field of quality assurance is evidenced by her leadership of the Polish division of the IBAR project (“Identifying Barriers in promoting European Standards and Guidelines for Quality Assurance at the institutional level”) (2011-2013) and membership in the Polish Universities Accreditation Commission (2012 – present).

She was a member of the Polish Bologna Experts Team (2006 – 2013) and served as its chair from 2008 to 2011. Her position in Poland’s academic community is reflected by her membership in the Polish Academy of Science Committees: “Poland in United Europe” (2003 – 2006) and “Ethics in Science” (2008 – present). She was awarded the title “Authority of the Year” by the Students’ Parliament of the Republic of Poland in 2009, which illustrates her achievements as a teacher.